## 淡江時報 第 650 期

## TKU ROBO-FOOTBALL TEAM WINS FIRA WORLD CUP AGAIN

英文電子報

TKU robo-football team wins the world cup championship again! Led by Dr. Wong Ching-chang, Chair of Dept. of Electrical Engineering, 14 TKU students went to Dortmund, Germany to attend 2006 FIRA Robo Football Championship, from June 30 to July 3. Among 50 teams from 17 countries, TKU team won the first place in RoboSot and the third place in HuroSot.

Dr. Wong indicates that TKU team had won the championship in 2003 FIRA, in Viena, Australia, and in 2004 and 2005 TKU team took the second place, and in 2005 won an four prize in HuroSot comparing with those teams facilitated with national funds, such as Singapore University, Singapore, and Harbin Institute of Technology, PROC, TKU team's achievement is extremely bright.

For the past year, the research teamwork, led by Dr. Wong Ching-chang, has an outstanding breakthrough. Lee Shih-an, a second year Ph.D student and the team leader of RoboSot section, has attached a 360 degree visual catching "holo-visage," three motors, and 360 degree mobile wheels to the robo-football player, so that its quick decision-making and mobility is overwhelming the other teams when it targets and shoots.

Huang Kai-hsiang, a second year master student and team leader of RoboSot (human-shaped robot) section, expresses proudly that "our robots can split their feet!." The first generation "crawling" robot developed in the year 2004 has evolved to stand and kick, and since last year it can automatically shoot ball, balance itself, skip hindrance, and lift and carry heavy matter through its visual sensor. This year the robot is improved with Gyro sensor and infra-red scanner, so that it can modify its movement on bumpy surface through its visual analysis. When it works as keeper, it can spilt its feet and sit to stop about 80 % of the attack.

The champion-winning members of the RoboSot section include Lee Shih-an, Wang Ho-wei, Teng Hong-chih, Liu Chih-cheng, Chen Kuang-hua, Hsu Chihchung, Yeh Chia-yu, and Tseng An-cheng. The members of the HuroSot section, who won the third place, includes Huang Kai-hsiang, Yang Yu-ting, Tsai Yi-ling, Chang Hsian-min, Huang Chun-chieh, and Hu Yueh-yang. ( ~ Chi-szu Chen )

