## 36 STUDENTS GRANTED BY NSC FOR RESEARCH PROJECTS

英文電子報

Chih—ping Wu, junior of Dept. of Chemistry, and 35 other students were granted by National Science Council for the 2005 School Year "College Students Research Projects", each with 32,000 NT dollars scholarship and 15,000 NT research fund.

To foster research talents in the field of basic science, applied science, and humanity and social science, the National Science Council has encouraged college students to participate in research project in order to get trained in research procedures, study research methodology, and strengthen experience in experimentation. 36 among the total 75 TKU applicants were granted by the NSC. TKU outnumbers the other private universities for the acceptance.

Among the 36 winners, six are from Dept. of Mechanical and Electro—Mechanical Engineering, including Ying—chin Kuan, Yen—hong Liu, Chia—ming Chuang, Juei—jen Hsieh, Chong—hsien Yu, and Meng—chiao Yang. Dept. of Transportation Management and Dept. of Banking and Finance respectively have four acceptances. The four students from DOTM, Chia—chi Yang, Yen—yen Cheng, Wei—yin Wang, and Ju—chieh Chuan, relate their researches to everyday affairs, such as "Analysis of the Agency of Parking Charge in Taipei City," and "Accuracy of Estimating Traveling Time for Drivers." The four acceptances from Dept. of Banking and Finance, Yu—cheng Shih, Yia—yi Chan, Huei—chen Lai, and Chen—yen Chen, focus on the subjects of price—shifting and petroleum, stock market, and foreign exchange reserves.

The other 22 winners include 3 from Dept. of Chemical and Material Engineering (Yi-wen Chen, Yi-ting Cho, Chien-chih Wu), 4 from Dept. of Chemistry (Chih-ping Wu, Shao-an Hua, Kuo-wei Tsao, Chia-hsin Lee), 2 from Dept. of Physics (Wei-hsian Lin, Yi-ting Liu), 1 from Dept. of Information

Management (Cheng-wei Chen), 2 from Dept. of Water Resources and Environmental Engineering (Hsiu-lan Yang, Pei-chen Yu), 2 from Dept. of Construction (Chia-wen Ju, Ting-ting Fu), 1 form Dept. of Civil Engineering (Yuan-cheng Tseng), 1 from Dept. of Aerospace Science (Hsian-juei Chin), 2 from Dept. of Computer Science and Information Engineering (Chin-yi Lin, Pei-chuan Hsu), 1 from Dept. of Electrical Engineering (Chun-chieh Huang), 1 from Dept. of Management Sciences and Decision Making (Chien-wei Huang), 1 from Dept. History (Hsiao-jon Chen), and 1 from Dept. of Information and Library Science (Ming-wei Chong). (Chi-szu Chen)