NO. 944

President Chang Visits Sister Schools in Japan

【Tamkang University】From October 8th-10th, President Flora Chia-I Chang and the Board of Trustees of the Foundation for International Cooperation in Higher Education of Taiwan (FICHET), travelled to Japan to meet with three Japanese universities: All Japan Universities Consortium, the Japan Association of Private Universities and Colleges (JAPUC) and the Association of Private Universities of Japan (APUJ). They also paid a visit to sister school, Hosei University, taking a tour of their campus including the Mandarin Training Center. The Executive Director of FICHET, Hwei-mei Chen, also came along for the academic visit.

Japan has an estimated total of around 775 private universities, each with its own unique style and characteristics. The All Japan Universities Consortium was founded in 2004, JAPUC was founded in 1951 and APUJ was founded in 1946, making it the oldest school among the Japanese University Association and the first university to have an academic exchange with Taiwan.

TKU’s sister school, Hosei University, was established in 1880. It has an extensive history as well as a well deserved academic reputation. Its campus is made up of 15 Colleges, 14 Graduate Institutes, 3 Master’s Programs, 30,000 students and 740 teachers. Hosei University officially signed an agreement to become sister universities with TKU in 2008. The two universities have shared a close relationship and in February they signed an agreement to establish a student exchange, set to take place next spring.